Plot- a place to bury a guy


I continue to improve my craft. I desire the ability to improve the structure of my stories. I am currently reading Plot & Structure – Write Great Fiction byJames Scott Bell. He has several forms and it is an easy read. I may have to get back to writing with the old tools. I stopped cold when I decided to upgrade my plots.

I haven’t written a word in a couple of weeks. I read several books including Catcher in the Rye. It’s a good book and carries the story along. It isn’t as epic as I expected. I was supposed to be forever changed. They teach this book in college for Pete’s sake. Salinger’s gift is characterization. His characters jump off the page. I don’t like them, but they do pop. If you ask me personally, they should teach Shawshank Redemption in college and let the catcher save the children running for the cliff.

I will revise and post Broken Angel in the morning. I hope you enjoy it.

2 Comments

Filed under writer

2 responses to “Plot- a place to bury a guy

  1. What did you find most helpful about Bell’s book? I am always looking for helpful books on writing. Re-reading Brenda Ueland’s “If You Want to Write.” I get something new out of it each time I read through.

    • I was looking for some training in story craft. I write stories in a shoot from the hip manner, which sometimes creates good things and others not so good. He bills it as a plot trainer and it does, but it is written in an up beat manner and all around good stuff. Its funny I wanted to use the book as a building block and stumbled on it. Your a better writer than I am now and may not need the training, but I bet you would enjoy it.
      My apologies for taking so long to reply.

Leave a Reply

